RCB Team

Introduction to Royal Challengers Banglore Team

Royal Challengers Bangalore is one of the eight franchise teams that participate in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was founded in 2008 and is based in the city of Bengaluru in the state of Karnataka. It is owned by United Spirits, a subsidiary of British alcoholic beverages company Diageo. The team is named after the company’s popular whisky brand, Royal Challenge.

Since its inception, the Royal Challengers Bangalore team has not won the IPL trophy, but they have been runners-up in the tournament three times, in 2009, 2011, and 2016. The team is known for having several high-profile players, including Virat Kohli, who has been the team’s captain since 2013, and AB de Villiers, who is one of the most exciting batsmen in the world.

One of the notable records of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team is that they hold both the record for the highest and the lowest totals in the IPL. They scored a massive 263/5 against the Pune Warriors in 2013, which is the highest total in the history of the tournament. However, they also hold the dubious distinction of scoring the lowest total in the IPL, which is just 49 runs, achieved against the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2017.

RCB Logo:

RCB logo

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is a franchise cricket team based in Bangalore, Karnataka, India, that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was founded in 2008 when the BCCI announced the inception of the IPL, and the franchises were put up for auction. The Bangalore franchise was purchased by the business tycoon Vijay Mallya for a whopping amount of US$111.6 million, making it the second-highest bid for a team in the IPL at the time.

RCB has a loyal fan base and has been one of the most followed teams in the league. The team has never won the IPL title, but it has been the runner-up three times (in 2009, 2011, and 2016). RCB holds the record for both the highest and the lowest totals in the IPL, scoring 263/5 and being bowled out for 49 runs, respectively.

According to a 2019 survey by Duff & Phelps, RCB’s brand value was estimated to be ₹595 crores (US$75 million), making it one of the most valuable teams in the league. Despite their lack of silverware, RCB continues to enjoy a significant following, and its fans remain optimistic about the team’s chances of winning the IPL in the future

Owners and Management

The owner of the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) franchise team in the Indian Premier League (IPL) is United Spirits Limited, which is a subsidiary of the British multinational alcoholic beverages company Diageo Group. The team has undergone many ups and downs over the years, starting from a bottom-two finish in their debut season of 2008 to finishing runners-up in 2009 and semi-finalists in 2010. The team reached the finals for the first time in 2011, led by Daniel Vettori, and again finished as runners-up in 2016 under the captaincy of Virat Kohli.

The current management of RCB comprises Director of Cricket Operations Mike Hesson, Head Coach Sanjay Bangar, and Captain Faf du Plessis. Under their leadership, the team made it to the playoffs in 2022 for the third consecutive season. The squad is a mix of established international stars such as Faf du Plessis, Virat Kohli, Dinesh Karthik, Glenn Maxwell, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Josh Hazlewood, and emerging domestic talents. The team has played a crucial role in the development of domestic players, with two outstanding fast bowlers, Harshal Patel, and Mohammed Siraj, becoming regulars in the Indian national team across different formats. Recently, Shahbaz Ahmed also earned a maiden national team call-up.

RCB Squad 2023, Retained Players List, Roles & Price Details:

PBKS has a total of 25 players in their squad for the 16th edition. They bought 8 players in the auction and here’s how the team shaped for the 2023 season:

The team is led by Faf, who is known for his aggressive captaincy and astute cricketing mind. He is well-supported by Head Coach Sanjay Bangar, who is widely regarded as one of the best cricketing brains in the world.

Player Role Price
Virat Kohli Batter 15 Crore
Glenn Maxwell All-Rounder 11 Crore
Mohammad Siraj Bowler 7 Crore
Faf Du Plessis (c) Batter 7 crore
Harshal Patel Bowler 10.75 crore
Wanindu Hasaranga Bowler 10.75 crore
Dinesh Karthik Batter/Wicket-keeper 5.5 crore
Shahbaz Ahemad All-Rounder 2.4 crore
Rajat Patidar (Ruled Out) Batter 20 Lakh
Anuj Rawat Batter/Wicket-keeper 3.4 crore
Akash Deep Bowler 20 lakh
Josh Hazlewood (Ruled Out) Bowler 7.75 crore
Mahipal Lomror All-Rounder 95 lakh
Finn Allen Batter/Wicket-keeper 80 lakh
Suyash Prabhudessai Batter 30 lakh
Karn Sharma Batter 50 lakh
Siddharth Kaul Batter 75 lakh
David Willey Bowler 2 crore
Reece Topley (Ruled Out) Bowler 1.9 crore
Himanshu Sharma Bowler 20 lakh
Michael Bracewell All-Rounder 1 crore
Manoj Bhandage All-Rounder 20 lakh
Rajan Kumar Bowler 70 lakh
Avinash Singh Bowler 60 lakh
Sonu Yadav All-Rounder 20 lakh
Wayne Parnell All-Rounder 75 lakh
Vijaykumar Vyashak Bowler 20 lakh

Royal Challengers Banglore (RCB) Team 2023 players list:

Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Siraj, Faf Du Plessis (c), Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Shahbaz Ahemad, Rajat Patidar (Ruled Out), Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Josh Hazlewood (Ruled Out), Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Suyash Prabhudessai, Karn Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, David Willey, Reece Topley (Ruled Out), Himanshu Sharma, Micheal Bracewell, Manoj Bhandage, Rajan Kumar, Avinash Singh, Sonu Yadav, Wayne Parnell, Vijaykumar Vyashak.