Introduction to Punjab Kings Team

Punjab Kings is one of the eight franchise teams that participate in the highly-anticipated Indian Premier League (IPL). The team has a strong presence in the league and has established itself as a team to watch out for. The team’s home ground is the PCA Stadium in Mohali, Punjab, but it has also played some of its home matches in Dharamsala and Indore.

Over the years, Punjab Kings has seen some significant changes. In 2021, the team underwent a rebranding and was renamed Punjab Kings. The team’s management and ownership remain the same, but the new name is a reflection of the team’s ambition and identity.

In the 2023 mini-auction, Punjab Kings made history by making the highest-ever bid for a player in IPL history. They acquired Sam Curran, the English all-rounder, for a whopping Rs 18.50 crores. This move showcases the team’s commitment to building a strong squad and their eagerness to invest in promising talent.

Despite not having won an IPL trophy yet, Punjab Kings has consistently been a team to watch out for in the league. They finished as runners-up in 2014 and have made it to the playoffs on one other occasion. With a talented roster and a dedicated management team, Punjab Kings continues to be a formidable team in the Indian Premier League.

PBKS Logo:

pbks logo

Punjab Kings, formerly known as Kings XI Punjab, is a franchise cricket team that participates in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was bought in an auction held in Mumbai in 2008 by a group comprising Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Saptarshi Dey. The team’s catchment areas included the regions of Kashmir, Jammu, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, and Haryana.

In 2010, the BCCI terminated the franchise contracts of Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals following the controversy surrounding the league and Lalit Modi. However, the team took legal action to remain in the IPL and filed a case in the Mumbai High Court accusing the league of getting rid of the two teams to give the contracts to more lucrative bidders in the 2012 season. The involvement of the High Court resulted in Kings XI Punjab being reinstated.

Since its inception, Punjab Kings has been a part of the IPL and has established itself as a strong team in the league. While they have only made two playoff appearances in 13 seasons, the team finished as runners-up in 2014 and has consistently been a team to watch out for. In 2021, the team underwent a rebranding and was renamed Punjab Kings, reflecting the team’s ambition and identity.

Owners and Management

Punjab Kings (PBKS) is a franchise cricket team that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise is jointly owned by Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul.

As for the head coach, the current coach of PBKS is Trevor Bayliss. Bayliss is an experienced coach who has previously coached teams like the Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and the England national cricket team, winning the 2019 Cricket World Cup.

Regarding the team’s captaincy, Shikhar Dhawan was recently appointed as the captain of PBKS for the 2023 season. Dhawan is a prolific opening batsman who has represented the Indian national team in all three formats of the game. He has previously played for Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL.

PBKS Squad 2023, Retained Players List, Roles & Price Details:

PBKS has a total of 22 players in their squad for the 16th edition. They bought 6 players in the auction and here’s how the team shaped for the 2023 season:

The team is led by Shikhar Dhawan, who is known for his aggressive captaincy and astute cricketing mind. He is well-supported by Head Coach Trevor Bayliss, who is widely regarded as one of the best cricketing brains in the world.

Arshdeep Singh Bowler 4 Crore
Shikhar Dhawan (c) Batter 8.25 crore
Kagiso Rabada Bowler 9.25 crore
Matthew Short All-Rounder 20 lakhs
Shahrukh Khan All-Rounder 9 crore
Harpreet Brar Batter 3.8 crore
Prabhsimran Singh Batter/Wicket-keeper 60 lakh
Jitesh Sharma Batter/Wicket-keeper 20 lakh
Rahul Chahar Bowler 5.25 crore
Liam Livingstone All-Rounder 11.5 crore
Gurnoor Singh All-Rounder 20 lakh
Rishi Dhawan All-Rounder 55 lakh
Baltej Dhanda All-Rounder 20 lakh
Nathan Ellis Bowler 75 lakh
Atharva Taide All-Rounder 20 lakh
Bhanuka Rajapaksa Batter 50 lakh
Sam Curran All-Rounder 18.5 crore
Sikandar Raza All-Rounder 50 lakh
Harpreet Bhatia Batter 40 lakh
Vidwath Kaverappa Bowler 20 lakh
Mohit Rathe All-Rounder 20 lakh
Shivam Singh All-Rounder 20 lakh


Punjab Kings (PBKS) Team 2023 players list:

Arshdeep Singh, Shikhar Dhawan (c), Kagiso Rabada, Matthew Short, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Rahul Chahar, Liam Livingstone, Gurnoor Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Baltej Dhanda, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Harpreet Bhatia, Vidwath Kaverappa, Mohit Rathe, Shivam Singh