RR Team

Introduction to Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals (RR) is a professional cricket franchise that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team was established in 2008 as one of the eight founding members of the IPL and is based in Jaipur, Rajasthan. They play their home matches at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

The Royals have been known to discover and nurture young and emerging talent, often from obscure backgrounds. This approach has resulted in the team achieving considerable success, including winning the inaugural IPL season in 2008. Under the inspiring captaincy of Australian spin wizard Shane Warne, the Royals defied expectations and lifted the trophy against all odds.

In addition to their IPL success, the team has also been successful in other cricket competitions. Under the leadership of Indian cricket legend Rahul Dravid, the Royals finished as runners-up in the 2013 Champions League Twenty20. More recently, under the captaincy of Sanju Samson and the guidance of head coach Kumar Sangakkara, the Royals reached the final of the 2022 IPL season.

However, the team faced a setback in 2015 when they were suspended for two seasons due to their involvement in a 2013 betting scandal. As a result, the Royals were unable to participate in both the 2016 and 2017 IPL seasons. They returned to the competition in 2018 and have continued to be a competitive force in the league.

RR Logo:

RR logo

The Rajasthan Royals is a cricket team based in Jaipur, Rajasthan, India, that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the establishment of the IPL in September 2007, and the Rajasthan Royals were one of the original eight teams in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. The team was owned by Emerging Media, who had won the franchise with a bid of $67 million, which made it the least expensive team in the league at the time. However, there have been past controversies surrounding the team’s ownership, leading to their brief expulsion from the league in 2010. The team was later allowed to participate after a legal battle with the BCCI.

The franchise is currently owned by Manoj Badale-led Emerging Media IPL Ltd, which holds a 65% stake, with key minority stakeholders including Lachlan Murdoch and RedBird Capital Partners. The team made a pre-tax profit of $7.5 million in 2009. The Rajasthan Royals have been known for unearthing obscure, high-potential talent, and have achieved significant success in the IPL. The team won the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008 under the captaincy of Shane Warne, despite being written off as a title contender by the media and fans. They were also the runners-up of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy and were the finalists of the 2022 Indian Premier League under the captaincy of Sanju Samson and the leadership of Kumar Sangakkara.

However, in 2015, the team was banned for two years following the Lodha Committee inquiry due to controversies regarding inappropriate and fictitious bids that violated BCCI norms. The team’s owner, Raj Kundra, was banned for life as a result of the scandal. Despite the setbacks, the Rajasthan Royals returned to the competition for the 2018 season and continue to be a popular and competitive team in the IPL.

Owners and Management

The Rajasthan Royals have seen several changes in ownership and management over the years. As of 2023, the franchise is owned by Emerging Media IPL Ltd, a company led by Manoj Badale, who holds a 65% stake in the team. Lachlan Murdoch and RedBird Capital Partners are key minority stakeholders in the team.

In terms of management, the Rajasthan Royals have had several notable figures leading the team. Kumar Sangakkara, former Sri Lankan captain, is the current head coach of the team. He was appointed as the head coach for the 2021 season and his role was extended for the 2023 season. Sangakkara is a highly respected figure in the cricketing world and his experience and leadership have been valuable for the Rajasthan Royals.

The Rajasthan Royals have had several other notable figures in their management team over the years, including former Indian cricketer Rahul Dravid, who served as the team’s mentor and coach from 2013 to 2015. Paddy Upton, the former mental conditioning coach of the Indian cricket team, also served as the head coach of the Rajasthan Royals in 2013 and 2014.

Despite the changes in ownership and management, the Rajasthan Royals have always been known for their innovative and forward-thinking approach to the game. They have a reputation for unearthing obscure, high-potential talent and giving young players a chance to shine on the big stage. With their talented players and experienced coaching staff, the Rajasthan Royals are always a team to watch out for in the Indian Premier League.

RR Squad 2023, Retained Players List, Roles & Price Details:

RR has a total of 25 players in their squad for the 16th edition. They bought 9 players in the auction and here’s how the team shaped for the 2023 season:

The team is led by Sanju Samson, who is known for his aggressive captaincy and astute cricketing mind. He is well-supported by Head Coach Kumar Sangakara, who is widely regarded as one of the best cricketing brains in the world.

Sanju Samson (c) Batter/Wicket-keeper 14 Crore
Jos Buttler Batter 10 Crore
Yashasvi Jaiswal Batter 4 Crore
R. Ashwin Bowler 5 crore
Trent Boult Bowler 8 crore
Shimron Hetmyer Batter 8.5 crore
Devdutt Padikkal Batter 7.75 crore
Riyan Parag All-Rounder 3.8 crore
KC Cariappa Bowler 30 lakh
Sandeep Sharma Bowler 50 lakh
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler 6.5 crore
Navdeep Saini Bowler 2.6 crore
Obed McCoy Bowler 75 lakh
Kuldeep Sen Bowler 20 lakh
Dhruv Jurel Batter/Wicket-keeper 20 lakh
Kuldip Yadav Bowler 20 lakh
Jason Holder All-Rounder 5.75 crore
Donovan Ferreira All-Rounder 50 lakh
Kunal Rathore Wicket-keeper 20 lakh
Adam Zampa Bowler 1.5 crore
KM Asif Bowler 30 lakh
Murugan Ashwin Bowler 20 lakh
Akash Vashisht All-Rounder 20 lakh
Abdul PA All-Rounder 20 lakh
Joe Root Batter 1 crore
Kunal Rathore Wicket-keeper 20 lakh
Adam Zampa Bowler 1.5 crore
KM Asif Bowler 30 lakh
Murugan Ashwin Bowler 20 lakh
Akash Vashisht All-Rounder 20 lakh
Abdul PA All-Rounder 20 lakh
Joe Root Batter 1 crore

Punjab Kings (PBKS) Team 2023 players list:

Sanju Samson (c), Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, R. Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Kuldeep Sen, Dhruv Jurel, Kuldip Yadav, Jason Holder, Donovan Ferreira, Kunal Rathore, Adam Zampa, KM Asif, Murugan Ashwin, Akash Vashisht, Abdul PA, Joe Root.